Bloo Kazoo (A Quick Pattern)

Standard

So I know I haven’t been around, been pretty busy. And I don’t have time for a full update right now, but I wanted to share a pattern I just wrote up inspired by a friend of mine. ;)

This pattern has not been tested yet and you’re more than welcome to change/tweak it. Please tell me if you do so I can include your notes!

I used US size 6 (4mm) double pointed needles and some random unidentified very old synthetic (acrylic) blue seemingly-worsted weight yarn. My gauge was 6sts/8rows = 1″ st st in the round (measured part of the way through).

co 9 sts, k9 rows st st flat. (you may need more/bigger for a flatter bottom, depending on your gauge)

instead of binding off, I left it as is and then picked up 9 sts along the other three sides of my little square and knit them, resulting in 36 sts total.

I only have 4dpns so I had to rearrange mine to 12 sts on each dpn so I could use the 4th to knit with. It was a little awkward when picking up sts because I had nine sts on two needles and eighteen on a third, but as I knit I rearranged them more evenly. Anyway….

knit until your little guy is about your desired length minus the dome that’ll be his head. for me, this was 25 rows.

decreases
rnd 1: (k4, k2tog) rep to end of round

rnd 2: knit to end of round (30 sts)

rnd 3: (k3, k2tog) rep to end of round

rnd 4: knit to end of round (24 sts)

rnd 5: (k2, k2tog) rep to end of round

rnd 6: knit to end of round (18 sts)

rnd 7: (k1, k2tog) rep to end of round (12 sts)

rnd 8: (k2tog) rep to end of round (6 sts)

break and pull yarn through rem sts.

arms (make 2)

co 16 and join in the round, being careful not to twist.

rnds 1-8: k 8 rounds.

rnd 9: k2tog, k4, k2tog, k3, k2tog, k3

rnd 10: k to end of round (13 sts)

rnd 11: k1, k2tog, k3, k2tog, k2, k2tog, k1

rnd 12: k to end of round (10 sts)

rnd 13: k2tog, k5, k2tog, k1 (8sts)

rnd 14: k1, k2tog, k1, k2tog, k2 (6sts)

break and pull yarn through rem sts.

finishing

sew on the arms and embroider the face
and viola

I’ll edit this and make it prettier and format it better later. Just wanted to get it up. Enjoy. :D

About Mapache Knits

Hey there! I'm "Mapache." I've been knitting since 2010. It's the first hobby I've really stuck with and it's one of the best things that's happened to me. It got me into a wonderful (mostly online) community and has inspired me to branch off into other crafts. Mapache Knits is my online store to sell all of my crafty things. Please do mention any tips, tricks, ideas, advice, comments, or just anything you'd like to see me do or make, be it for here (a how-to, just something you think I should try, etc.) or for the store. Also, I am more than willing to take commissions/special orders and they won't cost much more (usually)! You can also find me on... Facebook: facebook.com/mapacheknits DeviantArt: mapacheknits.deviantart.com/ Ravelry: ravelry.com/people/MapacheKnits

Leave a Reply

